I bought a huge NFT display

Plus, an NFT that ships you cash

GM

No meme in the intro today just a nice photo of the Missouri River

In today’s edition:

  • I bought a huge NFT display

  • Top 25

  • 4 new drops

Links for the Top 25 drops are HERE.

I bought a huge NFT display

“Oh you like NFTs? Then why do you only browse them on a tiny phone screen instead of an obnoxiously large 4k digital wall frame?”

They were right.

I had no answer, and I couldn’t live that lie any longer.

But that all changes now.

This week I picked up a Tokenframe

Specifically, I got their largest model: a 55-inch display with anti-glare 4k resolution, bespoke wooden frame, built-in stereo speakers and a rotating mount (for portrait and landscape).

I simply connect my wallet (ETH, polygon, solana and tezos all work) and this portal casts all those magical digital objects that I own straight into the real world.

Compressed grainy gifs sent via email don’t do it justice, but here’s a quick shot of mine:

Here’s why I bought it:

Digital art displays are the future

We’re seeing an explosion in dynamic art that absolutely won’t be captured in static prints.

Imagine limiting yourself to a single screenshot of Winds of Yawanawa, one of the most compelling collections of 2023.

Or missing out on art pieces that evolve and shape-shift over time, like anything by 0xDeafbeef or Matt Kane.

I think everyone will soon have to choose between going digital or missing out on the most influential collections that will emerge this decade.

Collecting just got a lot more fun

Most digital art today is mint and forget.

You get a slight dopamine hit at the point of purchase, and then you banish the NFT to your OpenSea folder alongside all your cursed 2021 PFPs and scam airdrops.

I think displays give you a longer-lasting connection to your favorite works, and I’m finding that I now spend more time browsing art mints just so that I can cast them on the big screen.

Custom-made for NFTs

Yes, you could throw a generic 4k flat-screen TV on your wall and call it a day.

But you would still need to consider how to:

  1. Reduce glare on the screen

  2. Connect it to your NFTs

  3. Keep it updated with new purchases

  4. Make it less ugly

None of these are impossible to solve, but I would rather go with an option that works seamlessly out of the box.

Keep in mind that Tokenframe isn’t the only custom NFT display out there, but I do think it’s the best.

Bottom line

Sometimes I’m just a chimp who loves to see large shiny things in person from time to time.

And soon everyone who visits will be forced to make eye contact with a 3-foot-tall cryptodickbutt before entering my office.

Btw this post wasn’t sponsored, but I did manage to get a 10% off code that you can use if you want to grab one for yourself.

Or just use code MINTORSKIP at checkout.

If you do get one, lmk what you think.

NOTE: These drops are lightly curated. Our only requirement is that they have recognizable founders. As usual, DYOR. To learn more go here.

Cold Hard Cash by Steve Pikelny

Want to buy a $10 bill from me for $80? No? Well, what if I make it into an NFT? (please say yes, for my famiglia’s sake).

That’s more or less what is happening in this 16-supply drop from Steve Pikelny, an artist who’s previously released on several notable platforms, including Art Blocks.

Granted, there’s probably more to this than the crude “here’s an NFT with a picture of a dollar bill, I can ship you the bill if you buy the NFT”, including some conceptual social commentary, but I’m just not caffeinated enough to think it through. Please email me your hypotheses.

Venus de Crypto: Defender of the Metaverse by Mr. Richi

Roman mythology blends with comic book action in this digital art collaboration between pseudonymous artist Mr. Richi and popular development studio Transient Labs.

The collection uses Transient’s Collector’s Choice contract, featuring a timed open edition mint format that allows you to pick the exact artwork you’d like to mint. Collectors will curate the final supply sizes as each of the 120 artworks can be minted multiple times before the mint ends.

Corporate Pepes by bee

Looking for some rare pepes? I gotchu.

bee, a fairly new pseudonymous artist (Twitter account created last March), embraces the frog muse and straddles the copyright line in the 253-supply Corporate Pepe, parodying corporate logos with pepe elements.

One for those unafraid of the Ronald McDonald copyright hammer.

Studio Sessions: The Norman Rockwell Collection

One of the most famous and prolific artists of the 20th century is brought back to life onchain in this upcoming physical + digital release from art platform Iconic Moments. This follows their Jackson Pollock sellout last July.

Recent market performance suggests traditional art is not very popular with onchain collectors (nevermind the discussion around selling deceased artists’ work), but I’m still curious to see what’s being cooked up.

Team

Giancarlo Chaux@GiancarloChaux

Guillermo Martin@pikanxiety

Jon Yale @JonYale

Tell us what you really think

What’d you think of this edition? Tap your choice below 👇️